top of page
  • Writer's picturecatapereiramahnert

What I’m grateful for

My roommate invited me to go home with her for the holiday break, and I was able to celebrate thanksgiving with her and her family.


It seems like this is one of the most important holidays here in the United States. I think it has to do with the sense of reunion and community that comes with this season.


I got to know her whole family and we got to eat lots of food… What can be better than lots of food?


All the beautiful moments that we had at her house got me thinking about everything that I’m grateful for this year. I decided to make a list with what I think is the most important:



1. My family. I consider myself lucky to have such love, support, and a strong circle of trust.


2. My friends! Both the ones I made here, and the ones from back home.


3. Health.


4. Being able to go to college here and in Chile. I’m so grateful to have this opportunity, and let’s remember that there’s some children who aren’t even able to finish primary school due to circumstances beyond their control.


5. I'm grateful to have food and shelter. I know I am lucky to feel secure in my home.


There are many other things that I’m grateful for, but I wanted to highlight these ones in particular because we usually take for granted what we have. It is easy to forget that there are many people around the world who are not as lucky as we are.


It’s important to be aware of our privileges, but what is even more important is to do something about it if we can. I found this inspirational blog that has some ideas about things we can do to do to better in our society.


As a communicator, I can think of a simple way to help through social media. Let’s share information! Of course, this should be verified information presented by reliable sources.


I know this post is not covering a topic that I usually write about, but with everything that is going on, I thought it was important to talk about what we are grateful for.

34 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Learning: a never ending experience

The first blog that I ever posted in my wix site was about the goals that I had for my social media strategies class. Now that I’m about to finish my semester as an international student, I wanted to

Being Innovative

Last week the author of “Life's Not Always Written in Times New Roman: The Untold Stories of People Like You” and “Driven”, Riley DeLeon, came to my social media class to lead a conference meeting. He

bottom of page