top of page
  • Writer's picturecatapereiramahnert

A close experience with a hurricane

Hurricane Florence struck the area of North and South Carolina during these past few days. The only way you could not already know this would be if you were living in a cloister, or if you did not have internet until this very moment.


What was once a hurricane quickly devolved into a tropical cyclone. Although the storm was not as intense as expected, it has sadly been reported that 34 lives were lost.


AppState ended up canceling four days of classes even though the area of Boone wasn’t supposed to be heavily impacted. I appreciate the precaution, because I think that is a hundred times better to prevent a catastrophe instead of having to regret inaction.


I have never been in Hurricane emergency before, but I had the feeling that the news about Florence caused a collective hysteria.


I was told to go to the store to get supplies for the storm, so I went to Walmart to buy water and food, but there were rows and rows of empty aisles. Slowly I begin to take the weight of the situation.


In Chile, we don’t have tornadoes or hurricanes, but we do have a lot of earthquakes. I think I have lived through at least three big ones. I’m really prepared for them because I’m used to it. Here, I didn’t know what to expect.


And then I had to deal with my family calling me every hour to make sure that I was alright. This only made it harder for me. I tried my best to seem calm -while I was actually pretty scared- so that they wouldn’t have to worry.


Atree at AppState after Florence.

Thank God Florence decided to downgrade. Also, that here in Boone we only got a tiny storm.


I can now say that I’ve survived a hurricane! After going through all of this, I feel confident that I could be prepared to live through another, but let’s hope I will never have to again.

8 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Learning: a never ending experience

The first blog that I ever posted in my wix site was about the goals that I had for my social media strategies class. Now that I’m about to finish my semester as an international student, I wanted to

bottom of page