top of page
  • Writer's picturecatapereiramahnert

Being independent

Studying abroad is my first experience living without my parents.


In Chile I go to a college in the same town that I have lived all my life. This means that I still live with my parents.


*In case you’re wondering, that’s how most students do in my country. Although there are a few that move to bigger cities.


Since this is my first experience being by myself, I thought that I could stand out what changed or is different:


Food


No one will cook for you. No one will go to the grocery store for you. You will be hungry.

I actually did cook back home because my mom and dad work full time, but only once or twice a week.


I don’t know if this is a good parameter because I own a meal plan, but I still have to go get food everyday, at least twice.


This is the worst parameter.


Money


Having to spend money is hard for two reasons:

  1. It has to last an entire month. This means 30 days and sometimes 31.

  2. You’ll have to prioritize. Is this beautiful lipstick more important than toothpaste? It is, until you have nothing to brush your teeth with. Don’t even get me started about toilet paper.

Doing whatever you want


My parents were never too strict with my curfew, but it’s amazing to wake up at 1 pm the day after a party without having to do stuff like lunch or going to your grandparents house.


Although I can’t really enjoy that much this benefit because everything here ends at 2 am or even before! In Chile a party can go from 12 am to 5 am.


Missing family



Well, everything is still new to me in here. It’s an unique experience that has helped me to grow and know myself better. Maybe being busy with that makes me not really miss my parents.


I do sometimes wish that they were here with me living this experience, and when I’m sick I would like my mom to take care of me. But so far, so good.

9 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Learning: a never ending experience

The first blog that I ever posted in my wix site was about the goals that I had for my social media strategies class. Now that I’m about to finish my semester as an international student, I wanted to

bottom of page