top of page
  • Writer's picturecatapereiramahnert

Fútbol Vs. Football

Before I start this blog, I need to clarify some things:

  • Fútbol = soccer

  • Football = American football (that’s how we call it in Latin America. Well, actually, we call it fútbol americano).

  • My knowledge of football is about the same that I have for calculus, cero.

  • If you love football, you’ll probably disagree with me throughout this post.

Last saturday I went for the first time to a football game knowing nothing about football. I’ve never even watched it on TV -even though my dad is obsessed with the Green Bay Packers-.


In the past, I used to think that the super bowl was just a big bowl where you put food.


Me and my friend Vale tailgating.

I have to say is that I liked the environment of an American football game day, specially tailgating, it was super fun. About the sport itself, it was… Interesting. I can’t say much because I don’t even know what it is about. Instead, I know everything about soccer. I just love it.


This is what I catched of football compared to soccer.

Soccer Football

- Only 11 player plus players on the bench. - Around 50 players.


- 90 minutes of game divided in two times, - Four quarters that last almost an hour

plus 15 minutes of half time. each. You can be days watching it. Well, not days but a really big amount of time.

- The game only stops during half time. - THEY ARE ALWAYS STOPPING THE GAME.


- 1 point = 1 goal. - A lot of points for running to the other side of the field or throw yourself on top of another player.



Ok. clearly I am biased, but I can say in favor of Fútbol and football that them both unite and convene many people. And this is the beauty in them. A whole family can come together to celebrate the team they have followed for generations, regardless of whether they win or lose.


Now, Did I liked football? Maybe. Did I understand it? Not at all. Would I go to another game? For sure. Would I stay the whole game? No way.

14 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Learning: a never ending experience

The first blog that I ever posted in my wix site was about the goals that I had for my social media strategies class. Now that I’m about to finish my semester as an international student, I wanted to

bottom of page