top of page
  • Writer's picturecatapereiramahnert

My mom came to visit!

Last week my mom surprised me with a very unplanned but beautiful visit.


I have been away from my family for three months. As I said in previous posts, to me, it wasn’t terrible, but my mother was missing me so much that she decided to come to Boone and spend some time with me.


This definitely caught me off guard. I didn’t expect at all for this to happen.


She stayed from November 3rd until the 9th. I had to go pick her up at the airport in Charlotte, which was easy because my roommate was going to visit her family for the weekend and I just had to join her.


We stayed for a night in my roommate's house and visited Charlotte.


Then, we had dinner with her Puerto Rican family. That was a relief for me because my mom doesn’t speak english at all, so she felt very welcomed when they spoke to her in spanish.


That night we drove back to Boone so she could visit AppState. Of course I still had to attend classes, so she would wait for me until I was ready.



We didn’t do that much because all of the cars that are available for rent in Boone were, apparently, already rented, so we had to take the bus everywhere. It wasn’t bad at all, but we couldn’t go hiking to the mountains.



We went to a lot of restaurants and bonded for hours… We really needed to catch up about everything that was going on in Chile.




When she went back, I realized how much I was missing them… Even though I wasn’t suffering, being away from the people that you love makes you value them more.

21 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Learning: a never ending experience

The first blog that I ever posted in my wix site was about the goals that I had for my social media strategies class. Now that I’m about to finish my semester as an international student, I wanted to

bottom of page