top of page
  • Writer's picturecatapereiramahnert

The biggest differences between Chile and the US (which I was able to recognize)

I’m a very distracted person. I always leave my stuff everywhere and forget if I really did or didn’t something. That’s why, for me, it’s hard to realize what’s going on around me unless is obvious.

So, big disclaimer for this post, there are a lot of differences between Chile and the US, but these are the ones that really left me thinking “wow, cultural shock”.


Número 1 (number 1)

The food

It looks like an innocent sandwich, but it had a spicy sauce hidden inside
It looks like an innocent sandwich, but it had a spicy sauce hidden inside

I have to eat, so this one was very easy to recognize. The food here is really tasty and there are a lot of options, but almost everything is spicy, even if the waiter says it’s not, it probably is. It’s funny to think about since my country is called Chile.


Also, the drink sizes. The McDonalds normal cup here is the big one back home. Although, if you take out the ice - it is growing on me - maybe it’s the same amount of soda.



Número 2 (number 2)

The alcohol


In Chile, the legal drinking age is 18, in here, 21.


Everyone has been telling me that I can’t drink and if I do, I will get in trouble, the kind of trouble where the FBI comes directly to Boone to take away my visa and send me to Guantánamo prison. Well, maybe not exactly like that, but similar.


Back home, you have a big chance to get into a bar being underage, because no one will ask how old are you. I’m not encouraging people to do that but, the you more prohibit things, the more you want to do it.



Número 3 (number 3)

Transport


In Chile, we call a bus "micro"
In Chile, we call a bus "micro"

I don’t know if this only happens here in Boone, but to get everywhere, you need a car. In my hometown Valparaíso, we have busses every five minutes, they cost from $0.75 to $1, and if you are a student, about $0.25.


You can also walk to a lot of places.



Número 4 (number 4)

The people

My roommate and I in Charlotte, NC.
My roommate and I in Charlotte, NC.

Maybe it’s the south, maybe the beautiful landscapes, but everyone in Boone is so nice. In here, I’ve met the nicest persons. From my roomate -even though she’s from Charlotte- to the old lady at Walmart.


Don´t get me wrong… We are not rude in Chile, but it doesn’t compare to here.








Número 5 y último (number five and last)

The dorm life

The college system in Chile differs a lot of the one in here. For example, we don’t have dorms, so you have to look out for the place where you are going to live.


Or you can do as me: go to a college in your own city. A lot of people do that in Valparaíso. We have around 10 universities and 20 community colleges only in that city.


However, study in here is very expensive. In Chile you have to pay around $5,500 a year, which is a high amount for our life standards. Although, keeping this in mind, it’s still cheaper that the US.


20 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Learning: a never ending experience

The first blog that I ever posted in my wix site was about the goals that I had for my social media strategies class. Now that I’m about to finish my semester as an international student, I wanted to

bottom of page