top of page
  • Writer's picturecatapereiramahnert

Trick or treat

I’m not going to lie. One of the reasons why I decided to study abroad here in the fall semester was to be able to celebrate Halloween.


In Chile we do celebrate it, but not in the same way as in here… Actually, lots of chileans don’t like Halloween because it goes against Catholic beliefs.



Personally, I’ve been going trick or treating since I have memory. I remember that one year I dressed up like Christina Aguilera. I was obsessed with her



I’ve always been very tall so every person would ask me if I wasn’t too old to go trick or treat. That’s a trauma.


As the time passed I started going more to parties than to ask for candy. Always wearing the same costumes, nothing really original. But here, I had to do something special. Me and my roommate were Shakira. Yes, both of us.






As you can see, we were album covers of the one and only Shakira!


I also saw a lot of good costumes and clever ideas well developed, like a chicken wing.

It was also fun to get to see students around campus wearing a costume to go to class. A guy in my video class went as Frozone.


Later that day I went to the library and the librarians were giving candy to everyone. It was AMAZING.


Later that day we went to a bar which name I wont say, but it sounds like Samson. It was a +18 party so I was able to get in, but we had to wait for almost an hour because the +21 had preference.


All I’m going to say is that I just don’t get this system.


Anyways, here’s a picture with my friends from that day:



Overall, I loved Halloween.

7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Learning: a never ending experience

The first blog that I ever posted in my wix site was about the goals that I had for my social media strategies class. Now that I’m about to finish my semester as an international student, I wanted to

bottom of page